Driver Safety Course
*The Court will not accept any certificate with a completion date prior to your request with the Court*
The Driving Safety Course, sometimes called “defensive driving”, is an option to resolve a single moving violation. Both you and your violation must be eligible for your request to be granted. If you are interested in taking the drivers safety course to have your citation dismissed, you must contact the court prior to your appearance date to determine if you are eligible. The main requirements for eligibility are:
- You cannot have taken the course within the past 12 months
- You must have a valid Texas driver’s license OR a valid active duty or dependent military ID, that is NOT a CDL
- Proof of current motor vehicle insurance
- The violation was not committed in a construction zone with workers present, nor for an alleged speed of 25 mph or more over the posted speed limit
- You must be able to make an upfront payment of $144.00
If your request is granted, you will have 90 days from the date of your request to complete the course and turn your certificate of completion and a copy of your driving record in to the Court. *The course provider cannot send your certificate to the Court on your behalf; the driving record must be Type 3A.
Successful completion of the terms of your agreement will dismiss the violation. Failure to comply with one or more terms of your agreement may result in a fine of $200.00 and a conviction on your driving record. Please contact the Court for more information.
How to Request the Driver Safety Course
You can request this option in person during our regular business hours, by mail, or by email. Please include the following with your request:
• Your plea of no contest or guilty
• Your request for a drivers safety course
• A copy of your Texas driver’s license
• A copy of your liability insurance showing you are insured under the policy
• Your citation number
• Your name, date of birth, address and phone number
If your request is granted, you will receive your agreement in person or via mail or email. This agreement will list all the conditions of your driving safety course request. Please review and, if you agree to the terms, sign and return the document(s) to the Court within 48 hrs. You must sign it and return it to the court in order for it to be valid. It is your responsibility to follow up with the court.